Pac-12 Announces Change to Football Championship Game Format

Pac-12 Announces Change to Football Championship Game Format

SAN FRANCISCO – The Pac-12 Conference today announced a change in how it will determine which teams qualify for the Pac-12 Football Championship Game, Presented by 76.

Starting in 2022, the two teams with the highest conference winning percentage will face off in the championship game. This change would have resulted in a different Pac-12 Football Championship game in 5 of the last 11 years.

The measure was passed with the unanimous backing of head football coaches, sporting directors and the league board.

The current two-division based Pac-12 conference football schedule will remain in place for the 2022 season. Scheduling scenarios for seasons beyond 2022 will continue to be reviewed.

“Our goal is to place our top two teams in our Pac-12 Football Championship game, which we believe will provide our conference with the best opportunity to maximize CFP invites and ultimately win national championships,” said the Pac-12 commissioner. Georges Kliavkoff. “Today’s decision is an important step towards that goal and immediately increases both fan interest and the media value of our football league game.”

The NCAA Division I board today approved the deregulation of the current rule that had limited an individual conference’s autonomy to determine who attends its championship football games. Based on a motion brought forward by the Pac-12 and unanimously supported by all FBS conferences, the NCAA Football Oversight Committee had previously recommended this deregulation to the Division I Board.


Original FCG Participants

Participants in the new system


#9 Oregon vs. UCLA

#4 Stanford vs. #9 Oregon


#8 Stanford vs. #16 UCLA

#5 Oregon vs. #8 Stanford


#7 Stanford vs. #11 Arizona St.

No change


#2 Oregon vs. #7 Arizona

No change


#7 Stanford vs. #20 USC

#7 Stanford vs. #16 Oregon


#4 Washington vs. #9 Colorado

No change


#10 USC vs. #12 Stanford

No change


#11 Washington vs. #17 Utah

#11 Washington vs. #13 Washington St.


#5 Utah vs. #13 Oregon

No change


#13 USC vs Washington**

#13 USC vs. #25 Colorado


#10 Oregon vs. #17 Utah

No change

* CFP rankings used from 2014 to 21, BCS rankings used from 2011 to 2013

**Washington was unable to play in 2020 FCG and was replaced by Oregon as the second team in the North Division.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *