IMS Time Trial Updates

IMS Time Trial Updates

Pole position for the 2022 Indianapolis 500 will be determined on Sunday, May 22, weather permitting. Positions 13 through 33 have been set for the May 29 race on May 21. The top 12 drivers from Saturday’s session will compete for pole position.

A complete attempt at qualifying for the Indy 500 consists of four laps around the 2.5-mile oval at Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Scott Dixon won pole position in 2021 and he finished 17th. Race winner Helio Castroneves started 8th. The most recent poleman to also win the race was Simon Pagenaud in 2019.

Doors open at 10:00 a.m. with the top 12 workouts from 12:30 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. Qualifying for the top 12 begins at 4:00 p.m. and qualifying for the top 6 at 5:10 p.m.

We will track every qualifying attempt, so don’t forget to refresh.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *