Watch a massive asteroid zoom safely past Earth, 10 times farther than the moon

Watch a massive asteroid zoom safely past Earth, 10 times farther than the moon

You can tune in live Thursday and Friday (May 26 and 27) to watch an asteroid barrel pass our planet 10 times the distance from our moon.

The space rock is known as asteroid 7335 (1989 JA) and is four times the size of the Empire State Building. Although this is the largest asteroid flyby of 2022 so far, the rock will remain a perfectly safe distance from our planet. The Virtual Telescope Project will broadcast a webcast of the flyby beginning at 7 p.m. EDT (2300 GMT) on May 26 and again at 9 a.m. EDT (1300 GMT) on May 27; you can watch the flyover in the window above or directly via the project website (opens in a new tab).

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.