Megan Rapinoe and Alex Morgan return to USWNT roster for 2022 CONCACAF Championship

Megan Rapinoe and Alex Morgan return to USWNT roster for 2022 CONCACAF Championship

Megan Rapinoe, Alex Morgan and Becky Sauerbrunn headline the 23-man roster named by United States Women’s National Team boss Vlatko Andonovski who will compete in the CONCACAF W 2022 Championship next month.

Andonovski also named three additional players who will be available for two upcoming friendlies against Colombia. The first game is June 25 at Dick’s Sporting Goods Park in Commerce City, Colorado, and the second is June 28 at Rio Tinto Stadium in Sandy, Utah.

Trinity Rodman: The future of American football has arrived
– Stream ESPN FC Daily on ESPN+ (US only)
– You don’t have ESPN? Access immediately

“Since we last met in April, we have assessed many games and hours of video and had long conversations with the coaching staff to come up with this 26-man list for Colombia games and the last 23 for qualifying,” Andonowski said.

“As usual, the players don’t make these decisions easily, but we believe this is a formation that can achieve all of our goals in the four weeks we will be together for what we hope will be seven successful games.”

Andonovski’s selection incorporates a new generation of American players, with the young duo of Washington Spirit, Trinity Rodman and Ashley Hatch. Only 10 of the 23 players in the CONCACAF W Championship roster have World Cup and Olympic qualifying experience, a list that includes stalwarts like Lyon midfielder Lindsey Horan and OL Reign’s Rose Lavelle.

The list of notable absences is long. Sam Mewis continues to recover from a knee injury while Abby Dahlkemper (ribs), Tierna Davidson (knee) and Lynn Williams (hip) are also ruled out. Catarina Macario was recently sidelined after suffering a torn ACL, while Crystal Dunn remains unavailable after giving birth to her son last month. Christen Press has also not been named after suffering a knee injury with the Angel City club last weekend. Tobin Heath, who is without a club, was also omitted.

OL Reign’s Rapinoe and San Diego Wave’s Morgan return to the USWNT for the first time since October 2021. Portland Thorns’ Sauerbrunn and Washington Spirit’s Emily Sonnett also return after missing April friendlies. Sauerbrunn missed the game with a knee injury, while a rib injury ruled out Sonnett.

These are the first full national team call-ups for North Carolina Courage defenseman Carson Pickett, Portland Thorns midfielder Sam Coffey and San Diego Wave midfielder Taylor Kornieck. Pickett and Coffey are in the list of three replacements, as is Racing Louisville midfielder Jaelin Howell.

After the two matches against Colombia, the American team will leave directly for Mexico to prepare for the CONCACAF W championship, which will take place from July 4 to 18 and will be played in Monterrey.

The United States was drawn in Group A and will face Haiti on Monday July 4, followed by a match against Jamaica on July 7. The group stage will conclude with a match against Mexico on July 11. The semi-finals will take place on July 14 with the match for third place and the championship match taking place four days later.

The top two from each group after the round robin will advance to the semi-finals while earning World Cup berths. Third place in each group will earn a spot in the 10-team Inter-Confederation Playoff Tournament to be held in February 2023 to decide the final three spots for the expanded 32-team field at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup.

The winner of the tournament will automatically secure a place for the 2024 Olympics in Paris, while the second and third place finishers will play in September 2023 for the second and final CONCACAF Olympic spot. The winner of the tournament and the Olympic qualifier via the playoffs will also qualify directly for a new CONCACAF competition, the W Gold Cup 2024.

In the event of injuries requiring CWC roster changes, Andonovski can select any player from the USWNT’s preliminary 59-man roster that was announced by CONCACAF on June 8. before their first matches.

United States team:

Guardians: Aubrey Kingsbury (Washington Spirit), Casey Murphy (North Carolina Courage), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

Defenders: Alana Cook (OL Reign), Emily Fox (Racing Louisville FC), Naomi Girma (San Diego Wave), Sofia Huerta (OL Reign), Kelley O’Hara (Washington Spirit), Becky Sauerbrunn (Portland Thorns FC), Emily Sonnett ( Spirit of Washington)

Midfielders: Lindsey Horan (Olympique Lyon), Taylor Kornieck (San Diego Wave), Rose Lavelle (OL Reign), Kristie Mewis (NJ/NY Gotham), Ashley Sanchez (Washington Spirit), Andi Sullivan (Washington Spirit)

Forwards: Ashley Hatch (Washington Spirit), Alex Morgan (San Diego Wave), Midge Purce (NJ/NY Gotham), Mallory Pugh (Chicago Red Stars), Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign), Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit), Sophia Smith (Portland The spikes)

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *