How to see the first images from NASA’s James Webb Space Telescope

How to see the first images from NASA’s James Webb Space Telescope

Today and tomorrow, NASA is releasing the first color images taken by the agency’s mighty James Webb Space Telescope, the largest and most powerful observatory ever sent into space. It’s a major moment for the telescope, signaling the start of science operations for the mission that could fundamentally transform astrophysics and our understanding of the Universe.

The James Webb Space Telescope, or JWST, sports the largest mirror we’ve ever sent into space, spanning over 21 feet in diameter. Made from gold-plated beryllium, the mirror is designed to collect infrared light – a type of light invisible to the human eye that can travel incredibly long distances across the Universe. Equipped with this impressive mirror, JWST should be able to peer into the deepest recesses of the cosmos, capturing light from the first stars and galaxies that formed just after the Big Bang.

It was a particularly long road to get there. JWST has been in development for two and a half decades, with its journey continually marred by delays. Its budget also soared to nearly $10 billion, and controversy swirled around its namesake. But finally, on Christmas Day 2021, the telescope was launched intact and as planned. Over the past six months, scientists and engineers have meticulously deployed, aligned and calibrated the telescope, preparing it for the first stunning images taken by the telescope to be revealed.

Now, JWST is about to begin its first year of studying the cosmos, which is packed with observations from scientists around the world looking to study distant star formations, galaxies, exoplanets, and more. These images are just the beginning and just a taste of the exciting images that are yet to come.

What time will NASA release the JWST images?

Things start this afternoon at the White House. For weeks, NASA had been planning to release all of the images on the morning of July 12, but over the weekend the agency surprised everyone by adding a last-minute White House briefing on July 11 at 5 p.m. pm ET. Now President Joe Biden will reveal one of the images first this afternoon, with NASA Administrator Bill Nelson making remarks.

Expected time: New York: 5 p.m. / San Francisco: 2 p.m. / London: 10 p.m. / Berlin: 11 p.m. / Moscow: 12 a.m. / New Delhi: 2.5 a.m. / Beijing: 5 a.m. / Tokyo: 6 a.m. / Melbourne: 7 a.m.

And the rest of the pictures?

NASA has scheduled a series of briefings on July 12 to roll out the rest of the images. First, at 9:45 a.m. ET, there will be opening remarks by leaders from NASA and the JWST team. Then, at 10:30 a.m. ET, NASA is expected to reveal the remaining images during a live stream, which will be followed by a media press conference at NASA’s Goddard Space Flight Center at 12:30 p.m. ET. It’s going to be a jam-packed day of content, but if you’re just looking to see the remaining footage, 10:30 a.m. ET is the time to tune in.

Expected time: New York: 10.30am / San Francisco: 7.30am / London: 3.30pm / Berlin: 4.30pm / Moscow: 5.30pm / New Delhi: 8.00pm / Beijing: 10.30pm / Tokyo: 11.30pm / Melbourne: 12.30am

How can I watch the posting of the image?

NASA will broadcast live coverage on its dedicated channels, including NASA TV, which can be found on YouTube and the NASA website. The release will also be posted on the NASA app as well as on NASA social media on Facebook, TwitterYouTube, Twitch and Dailymotion.

Where can I catch up on the JWST journey?

We’ve been covering JWST’s launch prep for years. Check out some of our past coverage below:

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *